Example 1

Special Education, Gifted & Psychological Services

The Department of Special Education provides quality coordinated special education programs and other related support services for 974 students with disabilities as mandated by N.J. C.A 6A:14. Twenty-seven dedicated full time professionals coordinate the provision of seven distinctly different programs and multiple related services to 15 in-district schools and many out of district schools.  Special Education programs are also critical in the development of activities to address a variety of global school-based issues and concerns surrounding achievement and maximizing student potential. The department provides professional development for district support personnel in areas of state mandated training, best practices for instruction and specific areas of disabilities.

Additionally the department works collaboratively with general education programs and Intervention and Referral Services to provide early intervening services and reduce referrals with programs to assist students whose academic performance is negatively impacted by academic, social, emotional, behavior and health issues.

 
Tangible/Measurable Evidence
  • Increase inclusive programming throughout the district
  • Support district staff on all Special Education Program Mandates
  • Expand district programming to include all students with special needs
  • Improve student achievement
 
Special Education Programs
  Project Child Find
 
Contact Information
 

General Contact Information
1200 Myrtle Ave
Plainfield, New Jersey 07063
Room 306
Telephone: 908-731-4379
Fax: 908-731-4404

Ms. Antoinette Adams
Vice Principal of Special Education Gifted & Psychological Services
(908) 731-4200 Ext. 5205
anadams@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Ms. Elizabeth Filippatos
Coordinator of Special Education Programs
efilippatos@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Secretaries:     Ext:  
  Sharon Lopresti   5195 slopresti@plainfied.k12.nj.us
  Joanne Brown   5196 Jbrown@plainfield.k12.nj.us
  Lissette Ferreras   5194 lferreras@plainfield.k12.nj.us
  Rosita Blackman   5197 rblackman@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Child Study Teams and Related Services Providers


LDT-Cs                         Ext.

School Psychologists      Ext.

Social  Workers            Ext

Judith Lescarret            5333 jlescarret@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Ray Aboff                         5334
raboff@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Mortel Grant-Giles          5199
mgrant@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Donna Brown                5332 dbrown@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Cassandra Batts                5207
cbatts@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Claudine Lewis               5203
clewis@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Robert Larsen               5206
rlarsen@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Kanan Shah                      5210
kshah@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Yvonne Hernandez-Padilla 5335
yhpadilla@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Tabitha Wamakema      5249
twamakema@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Sandra Smiley                  5201
ssmiley@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Melissa Remo                 5204
mremo@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Marlene Rosenblum       5201
mrosenblum@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Leorah Weiss                    5200
lweiss@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Shana Solomon-Christian 5209
ssolomonc@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Lucero Marques            5208
lmarques@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Claudia Branco                 5475
cbranco@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Alece Dikerson                5261
adickerson@plainfield.k12.nj.us

 

 

Karen Richards               5111
krichards@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Psychiatrist

Neurologist

Speech Specialists

Dr. Nancy Durant

Dr. Ira Morganstern

Cynthia Davis
cdavis@plainfield.k12.nj.us

 

Dr. Kavita Sinha

Tracy Easley
teasley@plainfield.k12.nj.us

 

 

Vinette Klisch
vklisch@plainfield.k2.nj.us

 

 

Patty Lewis
plewis@plainfield.k12.nj.us

 

 

Tamara Griffith
tgriffith@plainfield.k12.nj.us

 

 

Laurel Thurston
lthurston@plainfield.k12.nj.us

 

 

Courtney Regula
cregula@plainfield.k12.nj.us

 

 

Jennifer Schwartz
jschwartz@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Plainfield Public School’s Teaching Staff
View teaching staff listed by school