Student Services

Greetings and welcome to the Department of Student Services for the Plainfield Public Schools!  We are your one-stop for any support service that your child needs.  We support students at all grade levels with oversights that include nursing services and care for extraordinary medical needs, home instruction for students with long-term illnesses/injuries, resources for families, and services to support students with learning differences or emotional needs.


Our mission is to wrap services around all of our students providing each child with the unique tools and specific strategies that they need to be successful. The New Jersey Department of Education provides the following charge for Student Services “Student support services foster positive relationships among educators and students, thereby increasing students' attachment to school, and serve as an essential link between students and, their families and school resources and community-based health and social services”. The Plainfield Public Schools is committed to this charge and will partner with our families and community to ensure all of our students reach their potential. 

 

A list of contacts and services is located on the Student Services tabs of the website and the buttons below.  For immediate assistance, please find us on the Let’s Talk app found on the homepage of the district website. Under the Student Services tab, you can request information on referrals for academic support, counseling, family support services, guidance services, psychological services, and all services pertaining to special education. We look forward to connecting with you!





 Student Services Cabinet
Dr. Elizabeth Filippatos Executive Director of Student Services 908-731-4200 Ext 5295 efilippatos@plainfield.k12.nj.us 
Alicia Archibald  Supervisor of Special Educational Services 908-731-4200 Ext 5613 aarchibald@plainfield.k12.nj.us
Marcos Bayas Supervisor of Intervention Programs 908-731-4200 Ext 5205 mbayas@plainfield.k12.nj.us
Myrna Dyson Supervisor of School Health 908-731-4200 Ext 5238 mdyson@plainfield.k12.nj.us
Ayesha Howard Coordinator of Family Success Center 908-731-4200 Ext 5242 ahoward@plainfield.k12.nj.us
Denise Shipman Supervisor of SEL/Guidance & Student Support Programs 908-731-4200 Ext 5297 dshipman@plainfield.k12.nj.us
Shana Solomon-Christian Coordinator of the Child Study Team 908-731-400 Ext 5235 ssolomon@plainfield.k12.nj.us
Zelda Spence Supervisor of Out of School Programs 908-731-4200 Ext 5381 zspence@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Student Services

2021-2022

Town Halls for Families


Date  Topic  Venue
July 13,2021 @ 6:30 PM Returning to In-Person Learning-A Listening Session for Family Concerns
Hybrid—PHS and Online
September 1,2021 @ 6:30 PM The Reopening of Schools
Hybrid—PHS and Online
October 14,2021 @ 6:30 PM Special Education: SEPAG
Hybrid—PHS and Online
November 18,2021 @ 6:30 PM Vaccines for Children-An Open Zoom with the Health Department
Online Zoom
December 2021 @ 6:30 PM PSA: Out of School Time Options
Pre-Recorded Information
January 20, 2022 @ 6:30 PM Social-Emotional Learning and Your Child
Hybrid—PHS and Online
February 17, 2022 @ 6:30 PM The Home Health Connection
Online Zoom
March 17, 2022 @ 6:30 PM The Family Success Center-Let's Work Together!
Hybrid—PHS and Online
April 21, 2022 @ 6:30 PM What is Equity in Education?
Hybrid—PHS and Online
May 19. 2022 @ 6:30 PM Planning for the Summer: Focus Academics
Hybrid—PHS and Online


All are welcome!  All Town Halls are open to the community.  The purpose is to provide an informative place for families to share their questions and concerns around specific topics. For more information on any Student Services please call 908.731.4200, email StudentServices@plainfield.k12.nj.us .  Please follow us on Instagram @ppsstudentservices